What new law did California just pass?

Margret Eckrote asked, updated on August 2nd, 2021; Topic: california
πŸ‘ 442 πŸ‘ 9 β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†4.6
#California Gov. Gavin Newsom on Friday evening signed a bill into law that is aimed at creating parity in criminal sentencing for young LGBTQ people who have sex with other young people. Senate Bill 145, introduced by San Francisco Democratic State Sen.

Follow this link for full answer

Anyhow, what are the new California laws for 2020?

New California laws 2020: Minimum wage, power outages, more rules changing in 2020. A mix of new laws take effect on Janu in California. They include added protections to online privacy, a reclassification of independent contractors. statewide rent control and more freedom for your hairstyle at work.

Brief, what is the new law in California about age of consent? The measure won't apply when a minor is under 14, when the age gap is larger than 10 years, or when either party says the sex wasn't consensual. The law does not change the age of consent in California, which is 18. Adults caught having sex with minors will still face statutory rape charges.

Still further, what is CA SB 145?

SB 145 would eliminate automatic sex offender registration for young adults who have anal or oral sex with a minor. Instead, a judge would make the decision, just as they do now in cases involving vaginal intercourse. ... It remains illegal under California law for any adult to have sex with a minor.

Is SB 145 passed in California?

Fact Check: California's SB-145 Eliminates an Inequality in Sex Offender Registration. Late Monday, just before the legislative session expired, Senate Bill 145 passed the California State Assembly 41-18 and the State Senate 32-10, according to the San Francisco Chronicle.

12 Related Questions Answered

What is sb145 in California?

The measure, Senate Bill 145, will amend existing state law that allows judges to decide whether an adult convicted of having vaginal sexual intercourse with a minor should register as a sex offender in cases in which the minor is 14 years or older and the adult is not more than 10 years older than the minor.

What is the new water law in California for 2020?

AB 1667, as amended, Friedman. Agricultural water management planning. Water management planning. (1) Existing law requires the state to achieve a 20% reduction in urban per capita water use in California by December 31, 2020.

What is the weirdest law in California?

Strange Law 1: It is illegal for persons to hunt game from a moving vehicle, unless the game they are hunting is a whale. Strange Law 2: It is illegal for a woman to drive a vehicle in a house coat. ... Strange Law 5: In Los Angeles, California, it is illegal to wash your neighbor's car without their permission.

Did California pass a law on water usage?

and water is no exception. So it was hardly surprising when the state made headlines across the nation in early June with a new policy on Page 2 residential water use: Californians will be limited to 55 gallons per person per day for their indoor water needs. The rule is apparently the first of its kind in the nation.

Is it illegal to kiss a minor in California?

Most people probably believe that in this scenario if there was no intercourse then no crime was committed. ... This is false. Under section 647.6 of the California Penal Code it is a crime for any person to β€œannoy or molest any child under 18 years of age.”

Can a 17 year old date a 15 year old legally?

Thus, sexual relations between two 17-year-olds would be illegal, as would relations between a 17-year-old and a 25-year-old. Age differential. ... Thus, sexual relations between a 15-year-old and an 18-year-old would be legal, while the same relationship between a 15-year-old and a 21-year old would not.

How much water does a 20 minute shower use?

Save water and energy: Reduce your shower time! The EPA estimates that the standard shower heads use 2.5 gallons of water per minute. That's 20 gallons of water for the average shower!

Is there a water law in California?

The new laws, Senate Bill 606 and Assembly Bill 1668, both signed in 2018 by Governor Jerry Brown, aimed to promote water efficiency by setting some target guidelines for water usage. Those laws set an indoor water use standard per person of 55 gallons per day until 2025.

Is it illegal to wash your car in your driveway in California?

Officials emphasized it's not illegal to wash a car on a driveway, parking lot or street; it's only a violation if the soapy water flows into a storm drain. ... Washing cars at home is still allowed by most California water agencies, if residents have a shutoff nozzle on their hose.

Why is it illegal in California to eat an orange in the bathtub?

" In California, It is Illegal to Eat an Orange in Your Bathtub. ... It was made around 1920, when people believed that the citric acid in the orange would mix with the natural bath oils and would create a highly explosive mixture. "

Is it illegal to walk backwards while eating a donut?

Ohio. In Marion, Ohio, it's illegal to eat a doughnut while walking backward.

Is it illegal to spit on the sidewalk in California?

In California, it is forbidden to spit on the ground within 5 feet of another person. In New Jersey, it is illegal to slurp soup! ... In San Francisco, California, you cannot walk down the street if you are considered β€œugly.” Talk about a crazy law!
ο»Ώ