iCloud Backup makes a copy of the information on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. When your device is backed up in iCloud, you can easily set up a new device or restore information on one you already have. ... If you disable or stop using iCloud Backup, your last backup is stored for 180 days.
Follow this link for full answer
That said, is it important to have iCloud backup?
You don't actually have to back your devices up to iCloud, though it is convenient; you can use a Mac or PC running iTunes instead. ... In the future, your iOS device(s) will automatically be backed up to your computer when it is connected, and you won't need to store those backups on your frugal iCloud account.
In every way, should I have iCloud backup on or off? We would recommend that you enable app backups for essential apps like WhatsApp, Messages, and so on. But for media or podcast apps, it would be best to disable the feature if you're running out of storage space. If you want, you can still turn off and delete the entire iCloud backup for the device.
So is, what is backed up in iCloud drive?
According to Apple, "Your iCloud backup includes information about the content you have purchased, but not the purchased content itself." Movies, music, books, and the like are automatically downloaded back to your device if you restore a backup.
What will I lose if I don't backup my iPhone?
The backup does nothing to the firmware or iOS - a backup only contains data, not apps, not iOS. If you setup as new, rather than restore from backup, you will lose the following data: Application settings, preferences, and data, including documents. App Store Application data including in-app purchases.
13 Related Questions Answered
An iTunes backup will save nearly everything on the iPhone including pictures on the camera roll, just as long as the photos were not downloaded from the computer but taken directly from the iPhone's camera. For more info on backups, see About backups for iOS devices.
iCloud backup is designed to completely restore iPhone but it would just save the necessary data like iPhone Settings and most local data. If you delete iCloud backup, your photos, messages, and other app data will be permanently removed. Your music files, movies, and the apps themselves are not in iCloud backups.
If iCloud is turned off for your iPhone and you delete a photo from your phone, it will not be removed from iCloud or other connected devices. However, if you decide to enable iCloud Photos again, then that particular photo will be removed from iCloud and other connected devices.
The main function of the backup is to permit you to restore personal data and settings to your iPhone during a Restore (during which the content on the iPhone is typically erased). It also provides a good way to transfer data from an old iPhone to a new one.
The only time you can restore apps from an iCloud Backup is when you're setting up an iPhone or iPad. Starting with iOS 12.4 and onward, Apple changed this process. ... All of your apps will download from the App Store automatically, and the backup will restore all of your app and game data.
When a text message is deleted on the iPhone, it doesn't disappear permanently. First, a copy of it is sent to the network provider. Next, the copy in your phone isn't permanently deleted, but rather marked as "deleted" by the iPhone's internal database.
Apple iOS software stores every text message ever made on your phone. You may think you've deleted them but there still there.
Deleting a text message on an Android phone doesn't remove it from your phone immediately. Your phone will mark the data as inactive until new data is created, which will then eventually overwrite the deleted text.
Nothing, but if for some reason the device needs to be restored there will be a lot of data missing. The easy way around this is to either turn the Wi-Fi back on or plug the device into the computer it normally syncs with and backup the device to the computer. It's nothing, just don't worry about it.
The “iPhone Not Backed Up” message means that your iPhone hasn't been backed up to iCloud for an extended period of time. iCloud backups are designed to happen anytime your iPhone is connected to power, locked, and connected to Wi-Fi. ... This usually happens when you run out of iCloud storage space.
Using SMS Backup & Restore It can back up your text messages and save them locally on your Android device, export them to a computer, or upload them to an online storage service such as Google Drive.
The iPhone's backup is stored in a SQLite database format. Photos/videos in the iPhone's Camera Roll can be imported by your computer as with any other digital camera. After the photos are imported with your computer, the photos can be transferred to the new iPhone via the iTunes sync/transfer process.
A: The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won't affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. In fact, even deleting the backup of your current iPhone won't have any impact on what's actually on your device.