Most allergists do not recommend that patients with soy allergy avoid soy lecithin. Organizational on-line sources (FARE, FAARP, CoFAR) indicate that food products containing soy lecithin can be consumed safely by nearly all patients with soy allergy.
Follow this link for full answer
On top of everything, is soy lecithin made from soy?
Although soy lecithin is derived from soy, most of the allergens are removed in the manufacturing process. According to the University of Nebraska, most allergists don't caution people who are allergic to soy against soy lecithin consumption because the risk of reaction is so small.
That, how much soy is in lecithin? The major components of commercial soybean-derived lecithin are: 33–35% soybean oil. 20–21% phosphatidylinositols.
More than that, what are the signs of soy intolerance?
They can include flushing and/or itching skin, swelling lips and/or tongue, wheezing, shortness of breath, hoarseness or tightness in the throat, nausea and vomiting, colic, abdominal cramps and diarrhea. Fatal, anaphylactic reactions to soy have been reported but are rare.
What is soy lecithin made from?
Soy lecithin is a mixture of phospholipids and oils derived from soybean oil, phosphytidyle choline, phospholipids and glycolipids. Lecithin is naturally found in soybeans although it is often extracted using harsh chemical solvents.
17 Related Questions Answered
Does Soy Lecithin Harm Your Hormones? No, soy lecithin won't contribute to hormonal imbalances and cause medical problems, such as breast cancer or thyroid disease. Soy oil contains very low to zero amounts of isoflavones, or plant-derived compounds with estrogen.
Premenopausal women have much higher circulating levels of estradiol—the major form of estrogen in the human body—than postmenopausal women. In this context soy may act like an anti-estrogen, but among postmenopausal women soy may act more like an estrogen.
Soy, it turned out, contains estrogen-like compounds called isoflavones. And some findings suggested that these compounds could promote the growth of some cancer cells, impair female fertility and mess with thyroid function.
Soy lecithin is used so commonly in our food supply because it acts as an emulsifier. An emulsifier is used to make oil and water mix when they otherwise would not, and it helps stabilize and keep the ingredients from separating later. It also prevents food from becoming sticky.
The molecular weight of choline is 104.2 g/mol. So, dihexanoyl PC, dipalmitoyl PC and soy lecithin PC contain 23.0, 14.2% and 13.7% choline, respectively. On the other hand, citicoline has a molecular weight of 489.3 g/mol and contains 21.3% choline.
Soy lecithin is a mixture of fat and oil, and so it is currently considered low FODMAP. This means you don't need to panic when you see this sneaky ingredient in your food labels.
There is no cure for soy allergy. The best way to treat a soy allergy is by avoiding consumption of soy products. With severe allergic reactions, an epinephrine pen should be available at all times to alleviate anaphylaxis symptoms. Call 911 if life-threatening symptoms occur.
Be aware that it may take up to 2 weeks for the proteins already in your system to be eliminated, so be patient! Why is your baby intolerant to milk?
Soy lecithin does not contain phytoestrogens and has no documented association with cancer risk.
Side effects, toxicity, and interactions In normal doses, lecithin may cause side effects. These can include stomach aches, diarrhea, or loose stools. It isn't known what symptoms would occur if you take too much lecithin.
Others dislike soy lecithin because it's "artificial." While lecithin is naturally occurring in soybeans, it's usually extracted using harsh chemical solvents. The last major concern regarding soy lecithin is that, like most soybean products, it is usually derived from genetically modified (GM) soybean plants.
Soy, or soya, lecithin is a gluten-free food because it is not made from wheat, rye or barley.
Soy lecithin is an emulsifier added to chocolate to help bind the cocoa solids, sugar and milk so they stick to the cocoa butter. This improves the viscosity (“flowability”) of the chocolate when it is melted.
Verdict: Some lecithin is vegan, and some is not. While lecithin typically comes from plants these days, it's often packaged together with animal products like gelatin in capsules. Most powdered lecithin is vegan (that's what would be used in food), but most lecithin in other forms like soft gels is not vegan.
To be clear, soy lecithin is not derived from dairy, and it doesn't contain milk. You can't derive soy anything from milk, or from any other food for that matter. It's soy lecithin.
Other names for dairy and soya in ingredients Some other E numbers which often contain soya are E426, E479 and E479b.
It can cause some side effects including diarrhea, nausea, stomach pain, or fullness. When applied to the skin: Lecithin is likely safe for most adults.